Our users have written a total of 4,160 show reviews. This page is a great way to explore new or old amazing shows or bootlegs, just refresh the page to see new things. The highest rated shows are based on shows with more than two reviews. You can also write a review if you have been or listened to a show, and we invite you to!

Experience and Innocence tour

3 kullanıcı tarafından 3 yorum yazıldı.

2017-11-11 - London

Anam tarafından yazıldı - 9 gün önce

Is there a man alive that could look as cool as Adam Clayton in that illustrated trench coat? I very much doubt it. 'Cool' was the thought for the evening on a perishingly cold Trafalgar Square and it felt a very long time since that sunny and warm July day at Twickenham.

Even so, the set list had a familiar feel to it, with Sunday Bloody Sunday and Pride opening proceedings, followed by a brace of new songs. Get Out of Your Own Way came across very well with shimmering guitar bolstered by powerful drums and bass and a rousing chorus. You're the Best Thing About Me's distinctive riff sounds like it has been around for years.

Things warmed up considerably during the trio of Joshua Tree Tour encores Beautiful Day, Elevation and Vertigo before One closed the main set in typically contemplative fashion. This was not a normal U2 show, however, and what followed was a re-run of Get Out of Your Own Way for a video shoot complete with protest signs in the radical spirit of Trafalgar Square demonstrations past. It's a great song and I felt very priviliged to see both its first and second live outings. It will surely be a staple in the 2018 setlist.

All in all an odd, non-gig, but great fun and well worth braving the elements. With the new record just weeks away, and a new tour just over the horizon, these are great days to be a U2 fan.

Eternal thanks to redpanda27 over at Zootopia. Go raibh míle maith agat, J.
Tüm yorumu oku »

Performans:
Seyirci:
Sound:
Toplam:


Joshua Tree Tour 2017

173 kullanıcı tarafından 221 yorum yazıldı.

2017-07-29 - Amsterdam

Happy24 tarafından yazıldı - 3 ay önce

Here is my report from the two Amsterdam concerts. I am quite late and it is probably impossible to write anything that hasn't been written many times before, but I feel like I need to write it all down for myself. I wanted to write a short review of the two gigs, but it turned out a bit differently :-)

Okay, let's get started. I have to start with the Friday evening, when the half secret video shoot took place. I arrived in Amsterdam on Friday at 2.25 pm. When U2 landed one hour later, I was still at the airport, which felt like a nice coincidence. I have registered for the video shoot happening, but didn't get the invitation. It didn't bother me at first, since the first info said it would start at 3 pm, but then, when I got to know it would start at 5.15 and where it would take place, I just kept on thinking about whether I should or should not go there even without the invitation. In the end I decided not to and went downtown, which made me think about it even more - the weather was bad, which made even such a beautiful city look gloomy and it had no atmosphere at all this time. I thought I might just as well had gone to the studios, since I didn't enjoy the downtown walk at all. So I am walking along Amstel, passing the opera house, these thought spinning in my head. Suddenly I am lying on the pavement and my leg hurts like hell. I don't recall any falling down and I am slowly picking myself up. There are people staring at me, obviously thinking I am drunk or something. I say I am okay, turn my head and realize I have overlooked a sign "STOP" in the middle of a pavement sticking half a meter up from the pavement. I had to laugh - yeah, I should really better stop before something worse happens - it somehow calmed me down - even though I bared my leg and got a big bruise, I was really lucky I didn't break it.

If I understand it correctly now, the actual video shoot didn't start until 9 pm and people were actually queuing there since 5.15. I am sure it must have been a blast, but looking back now, I was really exhausted and having those two concerts with long queuing ahead, I think it all actually happened the way it should.

I stayed in a hotel 5 minutes of walk from the ArenA, so later that the evening I went there to check the queue, which I knew started the previous day - 2,5 days before the concert! There were people sleeping in tents on the pavement (it was currently about 16 degrees and raining) and I was told that 230 people were in the queue so far, coming for the calls every 3 hours. As much as I love to be up in the front, I wasn't able to persuade myself to take part in this...I am too old for this...stuff. Well, I was surprised that most of the people in the tents were ladies older than me. Anyway, I had a plan to visit the Rembrandt house downtown the next morning and then join the queue, come what may.

The next morning the weather was even noticeably worse and I was actually in no mood for the gig. But when you are 1,5 an hour of flight from home, you just do what you planned to do. I went to see the Rembrandt house, which was excellent and the weather got somehow better. I had an early lunch and went to the queue. There were a lot of people, but it was not quite as bad as I expected. When we were let into the stadium, where I got at about 5.15, I actually got a very nice spot, which got way better as we all stood up at about 6.30 and moved towards the stage - I ended up in some 10th row, facing the Adam's spot on the main stage, a better place than I have actually hoped for. I was used to be in the 2nd or 3rd row on the I+E tour, but here, at a football stadium and with all the madness with the queue, I was just happy and now I was finally in the proper mood.

Noel Gallagher started to play at 7. I have never seen him before and even though I have only a general knowledge of the main Oasis hits and don't know any of his solo stuff, I was curious and looking forward to seeing him. Support bands are usually something one has to struggle through and survive and so Noel's band was one of the absolutely best support acts I have ever seen, but it really did feel as a support act and not as a gig of a rather big star. I guess that if you get up on such a huge stage without actually using it (okay, the screen on the right side was used, but still..) with only very basic lightning, it must feel that way. But they played very well, Noel sung great and I enjoyed the songs. So it was absolutely fine, but I can imagine that seeing a proper gig on a proper stage with proper lightning must be even better.

Most importantly - the sound was really good. Being first time in the ArenA and having read all those negative reviews, all agreeing on the ArenA having the worst acoustics in Europe, I was a bit worried, even though I knew about the acoustic adjustments that were adopted for gigs. I don't know how was the sound further back and on the stands (I read it was still really bad), but in front of the stage it was as good as one can get in a football stadium. And it was loooud! I was perfectly happy with it.

On with the show. One hour after Noel, at 9 p.m. U2 hit the stage. Since the first 4 songs are played on the B-stage, one doesn't get to see much from the place where I was, since one sees the band from behind and the B-stage is quite low, so it is difficult to see anything at all. But it is just time to jump up and down during Sunday Bloody Sunday and Pride, to enjoy New Year's Day and Bad (I have only heard Bad once before live, so this one was magical) and to wait for the band to move to the main stage, for the show to start properly :-) That happens really soon and we get the full Joshua Tree album. Now, it is impossible to write something new about it, so I guess I will just repeat what was said and written many times bore. One word - amazing. The live presentation of this 30 year old album is just amazing. It is such a consistent peace of music that holds together so well and the band does it a great justice 30 years after they recorded it. The songs from the first side have been played on most of the shows during the past 30 years, those are the "greatest hits," but hearing them in sequence and with those totally amazing Anton Corbijn's films on that huge and absolutely fabulous screen is something that makes you forget you have heard Streets, I Still Haven't Found What I am Looking For and With or Without You thousand times before, and you are just happy that you are at that precise place at that precise moment. Then comes the second side with all the "gems." Red Hill Mining Town - never played live before this tour, the most anxiously anticipated song - I though it was great, I loved Bono's vocals and even though I agree that it is somehow too clean and I would love The Edge to play guitar rather than keyboard, I enjoyed it a lot. Exit - probably the song all people love the most on this tour. I admit (don't throw stones at me) that I never cared much for this track on the album, but is amazing live and it was definitely one of the absolute highlights of the show. In God's country - that was the song that caught my ear most when I first bought the album 20 years ago. I never thought I would hear it live. Beautiful. Mothers Of Disappeared - Edge's guitar work, the stunning screen background, Bono's haunting vocals. Just...wow.

The band leaves the stage and comes back for the encores - well, 7 songs, so pretty much the last third of the show. They start with Miss Sarajevo and continue with Beautiful Day. One fan I talked to said he found it strange to play those two songs back to back - to play Miss Sarajevo with this heavy mood and message and then just kick into the party mode. Well, yeah, Miss Sarajevo comes before Beautiful Day, but it also comes after Mothers of Disappeared. There is the break of course, after MOD finishes, since it is the end of the Joshua Tree, but I think that it is more like with MS they say: "Okay, here is one more thing we need to get off our chest before the party starts." I think that the MOD - MS combo is really great and I disagree with all those who wrote, that Miss Sarajevo didn't work on this tour. It does. It does big time.

After Miss Sarajevo until the end of the show it is one big party. It starts with the Beautiful Day - Elevation - Vertigo sequence. Three songs that have been played to death, three songs most fans (including me) would agree that need to be put to rest at least for a while. I would not believe how those three songs would actually work on this tour. They all somehow got new energy. Beautiful Day in a new arrangement sounds great. The fans-organized balloons on the first night we beautiful and it obviously touched Bono. Elevation - everybody jumps. The Edge smiles and jumps - priceless. Vertigo - such energy, I guess the Vertigo Tour-like visuals play a big part in that.

In the end comes the Achtung Baby sequence - Mysterious Ways - Ultraviolet - One. The Edge finally plays the Mysterious Ways solo after 20 years! While the PopMart version still remains my favorite, this present one comes close second. As much as I love this song (the guitar part is absolutely out of this world), I thought it somehow didn't work on the I+E tour. It was such a pleasure to see this amazing version now. The first night closes with One. Again, one of my all-time-favorites. And again, the I+E stripped-down version mostly sung by crowd didn't do much for me, so it was nice to hear this "proper" version, which works perfectly even without Bono playing a guitar. And yeah, with the Hear Us Coming snippet!

So after the magnificent first show I felt like the second one would be a great bonus any way it would turn out. I kind of expected the queue for the second show not to be that crazy (though is started right after the first one ended, or was it even before?), but when I came to the stadium the next day at 3 p.m., I was really taken aback by how relatively few people were there. It was soooo easy. I went straight into the fence barrier, sat down and waited. Once inside the stadium I got a great spot of course, which again improved substantially once we got up - 4th row facing The Edge at the main stage - that's the dream :-)

The show itself was very similar to the first one in all aspects - setlist-wise, the performance, the atmosphere, I can't really say which one I enjoyed more, I really loved both. The setlist changes were scarce and predictable - we got A Sort Of Homecoming instead of Bad - the first and probably the last time I have heard this song live, so I was more than glad, since it really is one of my all-time-favorites, and while it is not as well known and so not such a crowd pleaser as Bad, it was fabulous. Of course, the price one has to pay is not having Bad in the setlist. Anyway, during the encores we didn't get Mysterious Ways, which is a pity, since I would have loved to hear it again, but then it was somehow given that there would be another song after One. I hoped for The Little Things, but when I saw Dallas bringing The Edge the Explorer, it was obvious that they would end with I Will Follow. I must admit, it was a little bit of a let down, since as much as IWF is a great song, I have heard it on several shows and felt like The Little Things would be way more special. Well, that was how I felt before the band kicked into the song. They stayed on the main stage and the whole place went totally nuts. The atmosphere was amazing during the whole show with the crowd singing and dancing all night, but with the first notes it shifted two gears up. The whole stadium was jumping, I can't recall whether I have ever witnessed a stronger crowd reaction. It was a magical ending really.

I stayed in Amsterdam the next day - went to the Anne Frank house, which was fantastic, I have stayed there for 3 hours, then walked around the town and in the afternoon I went to the Van Gogh museum, which was great as always (my 4th visit). When I went to the museum, I got off at the Weesperplein underground station, which is pretty much right next to the Amstel Intercontinental, where U2 had stayed. I passed it 3 or 4 times during the weekend, always stopped for 5-10 minutes. I didn't feel like waiting for hours for the band, I thought that if it was meant to be, then 5 minutes must be enough :-). Well, it was not meant to be. I thought the band left on Sunday after the concert, so this time I was surprised there were about 20 people outside the hotel. I went there and was told that they got a glimpse of The Edge just a while ago. It was half past three and I was about half an hour early for the Van Gogh Museum, so I decided to spend that time there, being sure, that there must be a reason why I set so early on my way to the museum. But again...it was not meant to be :-) Later somebody posted that The Edge was seen outside the Anne Frank house between 4 and 5 pm...

So during those 4 days I finally didn't get to meet anybody from the band (unlike Marcello - a Brazilian fan I stayed with in the hotel - who got his T-shirt signed by Bono and Adam and during the second show Bono gave him the harmonica he played on Trip) . True, I didn't put much effort to it, but... they landed before I left the airport, I was downtown when they did the video shoot, I passed their hotel several times (yeah, I would have to be really lucky if that happened without my waiting), I have visited the Anne Frank house before The Edge. Nevertheless I had a splendid time in Amsterdam and those two concerts...just WOOOWWW!
Tüm yorumu oku »

Performans:
Seyirci:
Sound:
Toplam:

2017-06-23 - Toronto by Hwy_Girl rated

“FULL CIRCLE”

A circle:
-a perfectly round shape
-a line that is curved so its ends meet and every point on the..
Tüm yorumu oku »

2017-06-14 - Tampa by GodPartII rated

I was too young to attend a concert from the original Joshua Tree Tour and often jealous of those who..
Tüm yorumu oku »

2017-06-18 - Philadelphia by Larva rated

Day started with a whirlwind tour of Philly alongside my wife and our two oldest friends. Saw the Liberty..
Tüm yorumu oku »


Innocence and Experience tour

174 kullanıcı tarafından 284 yorum yazıldı.

2015-05-30 - Inglewood

bcwgobuffs tarafından yazıldı - 2 yıl önce

So far starters, let’s put this review into context. LA 530 was my 18th or so show since 1983 and I’ve seen every tour including the Conspiracy of Hope Tour since then. {Curious readers can see the full list at the end}

It was nearly 32 years ago to the day that my sister, 12, and me, 18, stood side by side at the University of Colorado Events Center in Boulder; the night AFTER Red Rocks, for our first show.
Back in the day, Bono walked into the crowd sans a ramp, and that night he stood in the lower bowl equivalent not 5 feet from us and sang “send in the clowns, bring on the clowns” – magic.

Despite living 1,500 miles apart, Young Sis has joined me on 9 shows over the years: every tour but Pop, ironically, cuz she was pregnant with my nephew. Our other sister, Old Sis, at 1,700 miles away also attended LA 530 and was with us at 4 of the shows over the years. I have a unique U2 Tour family tradition with my sisters; and candidly we are wondering if LA 530 is the end. Plus, my wife’s been to 4 shows with me, my kids, one, even my parents got into the act in their sixties in 2005.

Enough of the Context, on to Los Angeles.

We went “Lazy GA” as some call it.

After clearing the sort of nerve wracking Credit Card Entry technology we ambled in to the Forum around 7:15 PM. Took our spot about 12 feet off of the E stage rail and hung out with the typical gracious and interesting U2 crowd. Fun fact, Anthony Kiedis of the Red Hot Chile Peppers and his girlfriend headlined the VIP cattle pen right behind us.

Bono’s entry near the E stage did not catch us off guard as fellow GAerz indicated it would happen. A cool moment anyway, and reminded me that U2 always seems to find a way to make the opening interesting.

The first four songs rocked: 20 minutes of pure adrenaline. I was pleasantly surprised at the opener, Miracle of Joey Ramone; it came off better than I expected though the sing along probably helped. Two songs from Boy and Vertigo were well placed and extremely powerful.

Other highlights for me, pre-Wanderer intermission, included Iris, Song for Someone, and Sunday Bloody Sunday. The visuals during Iris and Cedarwood Road were top notch and helped tell the story, and for the most part I thought the visuals helped the songs along without dominating them all night.

Upon re-hearing SBS through a bootleg this version it came off nicer than I thought too, but I suspect U2 might be tiring of trying to reinvent the song to make it interesting for them to play.
Song for Someone is a personal SOI fave – enjoyed seeing it from 15 feet of Bono, and his vocals were spot on during SFS and the entire night.

The Wanderer intermission was just that, intermission – nothing too exciting there for me.

From my perspective, the shows lower moments followed. Though I enjoyed hearing Invisible, and it was done well, I did not enjoy the full-band in the cage-screen routine. Especially during Better Than The Real Thing – the cage seemed to detract from the song and the band seemed stuck in a moment they could not get out of. Awkward might be the best word.

Moving on to the E Stage the band added a fifth member for Mysterious Ways and this guy sucker punched and faux boxed and danced with Bono whilst also taking charge of the Meerkat Stream, I think. Pretty sure this guy’s been on stage before; it looked pretty chummy all around. It was interesting to see the Meerkat stream pushed to the video wall in the Forum; that was a WTF is going on technology moment for me and my 50+ years.

Up next, Stuck, Elevation and Every Breaking Wave bellowed right in front of us, though my previously mentioned sisters people surfed closer to the rail, while I held back. Every Breaking Wave was amazing in this context, and a woman next to me fired up a real Bic Lighter, which I joked, “it only shows your age” and this observation got me both the stink eye and a laugh.

Not a big fan of Stuck anymore, but this piano version was nice; the other tour debut, Elevation, was very energetic as well.

Speaking of “not a big fan,” Bullet was next. Having seen this song nearly 15 times, I’d previously posted, “no mas, it’s my bathroom break.” Much to my very pleasant surprise, Bullet was more like a Cannon or a Bomb. I really enjoyed this take on an old classic from ’87.

From Bullet forward the show was above average, though nothing super spectacular from my viewpoint. Hands that Built leading into Pride was very solid, and the sing along for With or Without You was a lot of fun as always. COBL was good, but the poor 8-year old kid on stage looked petrified and sort of detracted from the song in my view. Streets and Beautiful Day were also solid, and the tie in to Red with Streets was tastefully done.

Though I enjoyed Still Have Not Found and the band exit, that song is not my first choice as a closer – but they never asked me. I’m a traditionalist so I’d have preferred something from SOI or “40.” “40” is the best closing song from any band, ever; it’s chilling to sing along after the band leaves the stage IMO.

All in all, a great night punctuated by a solid set list, an amazing sound and video system, and the company of my sisters. U2 were in great form, Bono sounded great, and despite a couple of awkward cage-screen and stage guest moments, this was a great show. Really great.

At $85 I’d do this again in a heartbeat, and next time I’ll just walk in about 8:15 and still have one hell of a good night.

War – Boulder, CO
Unforgettable Fire – Denver (St.Patricks Day)
Joshua Tree – Denver, Kansas City
Conspiracy of Hope – Denver, 3rd row, my best seats ever.
Pop – Kansas City
Zoo Inside – Phoenix
Zoo Outside – Ames, Iowa and Denver
Elevation – Chicago, Kansas City, Oakland
Vertigo – Omaha, Minneapolis, Denver
360 – Minneapolis, Las Vegas
SOI – Los Angeles, #Hoping2016
Tüm yorumu oku »

Performans:
Seyirci:
Sound:
Toplam:

2015-11-07 - Glasgow by u2fancat rated

Hello, hello.. last U2 concert in Britain this year! After an amazing show the night before, I was hoping for..
Tüm yorumu oku »

2015-12-06 - Paris by LocalHero rated

I'm french and I do not write properly in English, sorry.

Paris, Sunday, December 6, 2015. A fabulous concert, amazing,..
Tüm yorumu oku »

2015-11-27 - Dublin by u2fancat rated

This close to the front, I figured I wouldn't be bothered by vexatious people wanting me to sit - and..
Tüm yorumu oku »


U2 360° Tour

365 kullanıcı tarafından 725 yorum yazıldı.

2011-06-18 - Anaheim

ahn1991 tarafından yazıldı - 6 yıl önce

It's my first U2 concert, so how can't I give this a 5! But seriously, it's a great bootleg. The band mixed up the setlist in preparation of Glastonbury and the high powered opener worked like a charm. I actually like the format in which there is only 1 encore break. It seems to work better for me.

Highlights:
THE FLY!! - tour debut, a super charged song, the whole stadium went crazy
One - an extremely powerful speech about shrinking the stadium down to one digit followed by a great performance of the song. I personally think Bono's speeches work way better than the pre-recorded segment. No offense, Aung San Suu Kyi. It's a great thing that you were released, but Bono plays the crowd better.
Streets - I remember my mind being absolutely blown when I heard that intro
Ultra Violet - This beauty makes a comeback after about a month and it's just as great as ever! I personally like this song way better than HMTMKMKM, simply because it works way better with WOWY and MOS.
MOS - very moving because of the Jungleland reading at the end.
Tüm yorumu oku »

Performans:
Seyirci:
Sound:
Toplam:

2011-07-20 - East Rutherford by EDDMB rated

Loved it.A great way to end the 360 tour for me.The band played a great show this night.They were all..
Tüm yorumu oku »

2009-08-18 - Glasgow by Anam rated

When U2 played Glasgow in 2009, it was less a '360 degree' experience and more a '220 degree' one. As..
Tüm yorumu oku »

2009-09-24 - East Rutherford by EDDMB rated

I really enjoyed this show.MUSE were great both nights opening for the boys.I liked the fact the band mixed up..
Tüm yorumu oku »


Vertigo Tour

126 kullanıcı tarafından 420 yorum yazıldı.

2005-06-18 - London

EDDMB tarafından yazıldı - 8 yıl önce

Its great..I would give it a 5 but..the 3 missing songs make me take off a notch.This is a MUST download.This is from a BBC broadcast so as I have said,it sounds fantastic.BTBS into RTSS are great.U2 in London is always great.The shows in England sound like the band are still tryin to prove themselves there.

I like when Bono says thank you to the British troops for all they are doing overseas in Iraq.Great show.A must have.Sweden and Copenhagen have an edge (no pun).They are complete and have a bit more energy.IMO.
Tüm yorumu oku »

Performans:
Seyirci:
Sound:
Toplam:

2005-09-17 - Toronto by haytrain rated

Show Highlights:
This really goes without saying, but the Mofo/Discotheque sequence really steals the show. In fact, it's the whole reason..
Tüm yorumu oku »

2005-11-05 - Las Vegas by MattG rated

Gotta leave this one with a four. The whole show left me wanting just a LITTLE bit more out of..
Tüm yorumu oku »

2005-04-28 - Vancouver by cesar_garza01 rated

One of the best Vertigo bootlegs of the 1st leg. This was a "rehearsal" for the Chicago DVD. They were..
Tüm yorumu oku »


Elevation Tour

88 kullanıcı tarafından 331 yorum yazıldı.

2001-10-13 - Hamilton

mattfromcanada tarafından yazıldı - 7 ay önce

As this was my first GA experience, I took the day off with my brother and stood in line in the early October weather. It wasn’t that cold out, but as we were in one spot for much of the day a chill could catch you. Fortunately, that was made up for by the wonderful experience that is a U2 GA line. I’ve had 6 GA shows and have only ever been disappointed in one of them. My brother and I have always loved U2, and somehow during our teenage years (late 90’s) ‘Out Of Control’ became our signature driving song. When we got in, the Heart was full so we parked ourselves just to the right of the tip of the Heart. So when they finished New Year’s Day and Out Of Control started thumping….well if you’ve experienced it, you know. To top it off, Bono pulled a fan on-stage old school (way to go Arun!), we got Angel Of Harlem, and my personal favourite, Bad. Hear Bad live that close on a GA experience is probably in my top 5 U2 moments. Again, if you’ve experienced it. A surprise cover of ‘What’s Going On’ followed in the encore which U2 just somehow made their own, and we were treated to the ‘Shine Like Stars’ tag on WOWY. Again, the GA crowd knew what a treat that was. I don’t know if U2 will ever come back to Hamilton, I don’t know if they know. This was to date, the only show ever in Hamilton. There were 18,000 luck fans who get to say they were there, and I'm proud to have been one of them.
Tüm yorumu oku »

Performans:
Seyirci:
Sound:
Toplam:

2001-03-30 - Atlanta by dank2525 rated

Brian and I had just recovered from Miami, and decided we could not miss this. Climbed in a car..
Tüm yorumu oku »

2001-10-25 - New York by oddjob102 rated

I was at this concert. It was my first time back in NYC after 9/11, and you could feel the..
Tüm yorumu oku »

2001-03-29 - Charlotte by cesar_garza01 rated

3rd Elevation show and the performances are getting better and better. Elevation starts the show with a great I'm Like..
Tüm yorumu oku »


Popmart

106 kullanıcı tarafından 339 yorum yazıldı.

1998-03-21 - Johannesburg

nfsmulder tarafından yazıldı - 9 ay önce

Review written on 22 March, 1998.

Saturday night i was rather deaf and got in bed @ 2am - but sooooooo excited. A dream came true. There’s this ultra marathon in South Africa - 90 kilometres (60 miles?). Once the winner commented looking @ the crowd still finishing in the heat 7 hours after him, that they experience the true spirit of the event. So was the U2 concert. 35 metres from the front or was it 50? Seeing the screen beautifully, but having to stretch to see the stars we wanted to thrill kiss, hold, &kill :-). Afterwards smelling from beer, nicotine, marijuana and dripping from sweat, but happy after a truly spiritual experience. It was the best worship of God I ever had (even better than church where I lead it) when we pleaded with God in 40 and throughout.

The event was broadcast semi-live over national television. Semi because the show started 9:30 and on tv @ 10 so they could squeze commercials in - so popmartish :-).

Looking 2 the show afterwards on tv I got the best of both worlds. Live the vibe and crowd…..tv the quality and some moments you missed in the crowd.

I taped it from my VCR to tape - great listen in the car. Anybody wanna trade? I need Achtung baby & Zooropa on CD.

What a mess afterwards. Interesting - selling beer in plastic bottles - good thing :-). Were there from 5:00. Tickets (ours) cost 170 rand each for me and my youngest brother - I made him the U2 fan year’s ago, so he bought the tickets. We sang “how long to sing this song probably for 5 minutes and heard some music and went wild!!!

But that wasn’t them. Just a cd. Then: looking for baby Jesus under the trash.

U2 - thanx for blessing us. We’ll pray for you guys. Peace to you and fans all around the world.
Tüm yorumu oku »

Performans:
Seyirci:
Sound:
Toplam:

1997-12-03 - Mexico City by loftarasa rated

No lows, just highs really!
This was one of the first bootlegs I listened to and is since then my..
Tüm yorumu oku »

1997-05-31 - East Rutherford by EDDMB rated

Well,as I said,I was down on the band at this point.Thank God they woke up and went back to basics..
Tüm yorumu oku »

1997-12-12 - Seattle by Thefredmartin rated

Hey Lads and Lassies! It's been a long time since this show, nearly twenty years, but it's a story I've..
Tüm yorumu oku »


ZOO TV

133 kullanıcı tarafından 502 yorum yazıldı.

1992-03-17 - Boston

MattG tarafından yazıldı - 7 yıl önce

There are just so many things to love about this bootleg...

-The entire song "Zoo Station" is hysterical with the band's entrance, where Bono wastes no time proving that he's drunk
-Who's Gonna Ride Your Wild Horses (simply because I'll always love this song on ZooTV no matter what, and they actually seemed to have taken this one half seriously)
-Tryin' to Throw Your Arms Around the World, introduced by Adam so hastily and carelessly that it actually made me laugh out loud!
-Van Dieman's Land into Bad is simply, utterly, orgasmic. It is a BRILLIANT transition and I have no idea why it wasn't done more often. A staple in this show.
-RTSS/Streets
-With or Without You

There are no lowlights, folks. Mysterious Ways stretches out a BIT long, but all it takes is to imagine the crowd partying and dancing and drinking along with the band to relieve the impatience. Download this show! It's worth a listen. May not receive many repeats on my end, but I know now that I have an honorary St. Patty's Day show that will get played at least once a year!
Tüm yorumu oku »

Performans:
Seyirci:
Sound:
Toplam:

1992-06-11 - Stockholm by germcevoy rated

I couldn't be arsed posting on this show because there isn't a lot that can be said about this show..
Tüm yorumu oku »

1993-12-10 - Tokyo by MattG rated

Very enjoyable to be able to hear the famous "The Zoo is Closed" show (though I was hoping Bono would..
Tüm yorumu oku »

1992-08-13 - East Rutherford by loftarasa rated

Solely the sound quality should make the Matrix a must have in your collection.

The concert itself has got a rather..
Tüm yorumu oku »


Lovetown

72 kullanıcı tarafından 175 yorum yazıldı.

1990-01-06 - Rotterdam

MWSAH tarafından yazıldı - 9 yıl önce

Sometimes I wonder why I was born in December 1988, one year before this lovely concert in Rotterdam. I was probably in my cradle as a 1-year old boy when Edge hit the first tabs of Where the Streets Have No Name in Ahoy Rotterdam on that special 6th of January 1990, 90 kilometres from my hometown.

I often ask myself the question: what would it have been like to be part of the audience during a Lovetown-show. I fell in love with the Point Depot gigs in Ireland, and the Rotterdam-shows from early January were even better, some say. Lovetown:the name itself explains it, like BB King spells during When Love Comes To Town: L-O-V-E. Yes, I love rock, I love U2, but I especially love Lovetown. Don't get me wrong, because I know the Joshua Tour was enormous and awesome. And Zoo TV was one big happening, followed by Popmart, whether you like it or not. Also Elevation gives me special feelings and was my favourite tour for a long time. But Lovetown is top-notch. The mix of songs between the Joshua Tree and Rattle and Hum, performed in small places with BB King's Orchestra makes Lovetown the best tour for me. I didn't take long and U2 didn't even cross the world with it. But the modesty of it does it for me. Like Bono says at a Point Depot show: 'After all these big places, we wanted to play a small place'.

Lovetown also marked the end of a decade in which U2 finally showed itself to the world in full glory. Live Aid in 1985 was a very important turning point, sealed by the release of The Joshua Tree. But U2 felt that every end had a start. U2 was looking for a new direction and needed time.

The energy and commitment of U2 was awesome back then. Bono was at his prime. His voice was a mix between the Joshua Tour and the upcoming Zoo TV. And U2 really enjoyed what they were doing. Lovetown was not a show, it was no entertainment like Zoo TV or Popmart. It wasn't a show with political context, like Vertigo. It was based on music, pure music, pure rock and roll. And you can feel the excitement and joy of U2 trough these shows. I guess they enjoyed every bit, like the audience.

U2's first European success was actually founded in Holland, where the single I Will Follow became a giant hit. Bono mentions this during this Rotterdam show when they start Love Rescue Me, when he says: 'And this is also a good place to end, because we more or less started here ten years ago. You've been very good for us, thank you!'. The crowd was ecstatic.

This show is awesome. It has reached a nice spot in my top ten favourites, I think. It's equal to the Point Depot shows, with U2 really on fire. I missed New Year's Day and Bad, but I know U2 played 4 shows at Rotterdam. The Bad from the 10th of January is one of the best there is.
This show is quite memorable as The Unforgettable Fire was played for the last time. I listened to this show trough my Sennheiser CX300 and my eyes shut. I transferred myself to Ahoy, Rotterdam, 18 years ago, being in the audience. I felt the energy, I experienced U2 in their best days
Tüm yorumu oku »

Performans:
Seyirci:
Sound:
Toplam:

1989-10-12 - Melbourne by cesar_garza01 rated

The band continued their epic residency in Melbourne with this 4th show and this is one of the best! This..
Tüm yorumu oku »

1989-12-01 - Osaka by aussiemofo rated

Highlights
* The upside down setlist

* Bono playing audience cop as he was prone to do during this era. I don't..
Tüm yorumu oku »

1989-11-18 - Sydney by cesar_garza01 rated

A very special show for multiple reasons: they had to evacuate the venue due to a bomb threat (sounds familiar?),..
Tüm yorumu oku »


Joshua Tree Tour

95 kullanıcı tarafından 293 yorum yazıldı.

1987-06-17 - Cologne

bodoheil tarafından yazıldı - 2 yıl önce

The atmosphere was very foul. It was my first U2 concert, but not my first stadium concert, and I remember it well. The rain had started in the afternoon, but in the morning and around noon it had been very hot. There was a terrible pushing and shoving of the audience waiting at the entrances for doors open, and many seemed to be well drunk and I did see many, many empty drinks containers, beer cans, wine packs and bottles outside. The doors open seemed badly organised. Some a few yards away opened before others did, the seemed to be little coordination. People were pissed off by that, they wanted an equal chance in the run to the centre stage spots.

The openers, I remember The Pretenders, Big Audio Dynamite and Lou Reed, were all booed and generally badly accepted, at least in the part of the audience I happened to be stuck in, which was third, second row, slightly to the right of centre stage. The place looked like an open battle for the first row and of course I participated first, being rather stoutly built and not one to back off easily. This concert had meant the world to me, after I had gotten hold of a ticket, through a multitude of different lucky concurrences.

I believe, I cannot be sure anymore about it, that The Daltons opened last. I might confuse that, though, with a show I might have seen on the internet of that time, after all, it's been 28 years.

When WTSHNN began with its droning synth-sounds and the guitar's delayed arpeggios, and the band appeared one by one, the crowd went mad and the stifling squeeze got worse. But when the bass and the drums joined and slowly built up the song's hard pushing, driving beat the crowd went berserk. I had a fight with an American, a GI by his crew cut and confidence, and the security did not notice. He hit me in the nose, but luckily he could not swing properly, for lack of room to move. I could not get my arms up enough, so I hit where I could. The security were highly unprofessional (I did that job later in life myself) and completely taken aback with the sheer violence of the crowd's pushing forward, the yelling and the screaming of girls who obviously were in acute fear. The waves of people’s shoving often moved me ten or more yards away from where I had been before. I remember the moment when the band jumped into the first song and the red lights flooded all over the rain-drenched crowd. The heat from the electric lights washed over the people and actually felt quite warm on the face. Seconds afterwards clouds of vapour of the drying rain partially took away the sight of the stage.

I had had enough by then. I withdrew to the seats ranks, found myself a place and watched from about a hundred yards away. I was deeply disappointed with the on-goings and felt betrayed and let down. I had thought that we had all been there together to celebrate the same thing. I had been wrong. U2 had become a phenomenon and had stopped being a rock and roll band. They were a sensation, not music to dance and sing the lyrics and to feel alive by, because the songs spoke to you about your life and you inner self. This was a spectacle, not a concert. No one danced. They all fought. No one sang. Everybody screamed. No one had fun. They all tried to hold on to their place or get a better one by being more brutal than the opponent, because that is what everybody was, an adversary and a rival in trying to be as close to the band as possible. Do not think that I was naive about it. I understood as I do now that people want to be as close as possible to their lucky stars. But I wasn't expecting the brutality I encountered, and it did not seem to make sense, and I was not prepared to put up with it, as I would not be today. I do not think that it was anything else but sheer good fortune that there wasn't anyone killed in the throng in front of the stage. It was brutal enough for that. None of my later U2 shows had that quality and quantity of ruthlessness and viciousness.

When 40 began I was on my way out, walking outside the stadium trying to hitchhike my way back to where I was due. I remember feeling like hell. It took me weeks to be able to enjoy the music again.
Tüm yorumu oku »

Performans:
Seyirci:
Sound:
Toplam:

1987-09-12 - Philadelphia by viridian1 rated

First concert I ever went to age 17. I haven't missed a U2 tour since. Listening to this was like..
Tüm yorumu oku »

1987-07-15 - Madrid by LikeASong rated

When the Where The Streets Have No Name organ sounded over the 125k people on the stadium and lights went..
Tüm yorumu oku »

1987-10-20 - Iowa City by IAFAN rated

This was my first U2 show. Met Bono before the show. Hours before they were warming up and..
Tüm yorumu oku »


Conspiracy Of Hope

10 kullanıcı tarafından 21 yorum yazıldı.

1986-06-13 - Rosemont

MattG tarafından yazıldı - 7 yıl önce

Everything I WASN'T looking forward to about this show, I loved. "Pride" and "Maggie's Farm", I wasn't all that cracked up about listening to. The former is on just about every show I ever listen to, and it gets tiring, the latter I just didn't care much about. They ended up both being phenomenal.

The "Norwegian Wood" intro to "Bad" is outstanding, and chorus gives me goosebumps. Listen to some recent shows (Vertigo, 360°), and then give this one a spin- Yes, folks- Bono DID used to sound like that

Everything about this show is simply gorgeous. Download it RIGHT. NOW.
Tüm yorumu oku »

Performans:
Seyirci:
Sound:
Toplam:


Unforgettable Fire Tour

68 kullanıcı tarafından 248 yorum yazıldı.

1984-11-06 - Glasgow

Edi tarafından yazıldı - 19 gün önce

We were all young. The place was crammed. U2 were already massive in Glasgow by the end of 1982 and had played bigger venues (the legendary Apollo). In 1984 it was a difficult ticket to get.

The Barrowlands is essentially a dancehall with a spring-loaded wooden ballroom floor but quite a low ceiling. This all made for much 'bouncy-bouncy' and the very definition of a sweat-filled room! Condensation was literally running down the walls and dripping from the ceiling (I even remember it dripping from my elbows !). You could wring it your t-shirt.

The Watherboys were support who were also very big at the time& they did sing of course All of the Moon !

The energy in the crowd and from the band was incredible. New songs from TUF and older songs went down a storm. Jim Kerr and Charlie Burchill (from Simple Minds, local Glasgow boys and friends with U2) were at the back and the crowd all spotted them & sung to them. (Bono a month later in January 1985 joined the Minds on-stage at the same venue for New Gold Dream which blew the roof off).

We only had tickets for the first night but it was so good we went back up the next day and queued up for on-the-door tickets with probably 100 or more others. I remember a scuffle broke out in the queue as some people started singing sectarian/Irish Celtic songs. They were quickly shouted down by others stating '...we are U2 fans, we are not here for that, the band would not want it, we are better than that'! We got in again having barely recovered from the previous night dehydration.

...and U2 brought the house down again.

A mere 7 months later they would conquer the world at Live Aid and everyone would know what all the fuss was about.

...and 34 years later I still want to get tickets for the next tour in 2018 !

Tüm yorumu oku »

Performans:
Seyirci:
Sound:
Toplam:

1984-11-05 - Edinburgh by aussiemofo rated

I recommend this bootleg for those wanting to capture U2 in full flight during their TUF period. They were in..
Tüm yorumu oku »

1985-03-21 - Chicago by Ali709 rated

mazing! It was the first ever Unforgettable Fire tour bootleg I listened to. It exceeded my expectations. It’s a very..
Tüm yorumu oku »

1985-02-04 - Milan by CMIPalaeo rated

This has quickly become one of my favourite U2 recordings. The crowd are wild and the show is excellent. All..
Tüm yorumu oku »


War Tour

57 kullanıcı tarafından 169 yorum yazıldı.

1983-06-01 - San Francisco

fleavox tarafından yazıldı - 1 yıl önce

The show is plagued by tech problems but was oddly funny, specially after first 6 songs!!

Highlights: Out of Control (disaster but really funny, when they restarted the song, was very well played), Seconds (Edge's guitar sounds different), Sunday Bloody Sunday (Edge's backing vocals with rough voice, I don't know if was Larry or Adam, but I also can clearly hear one third voice on chorus), Electric Co, October (a bit out of tempo, but sounds good), New Year's Day (same case than Seconds), Gloria (Larry's drums sound amazing during Adam's solo, and at end, Edge's voice sounds rough again, one of my fave versions on this tour), 11 O'Clock Tick Tock (all the cases, Edge's guitar and backing vocals sounds a bit different, drums and bass sounding amazing), and 40 (powerfull drums and good crowd)

Strange case that almost all highlights deserves some comments!
Tüm yorumu oku »

Performans:
Seyirci:
Sound:
Toplam:

1982-12-02 - Manchester by bowenjaybee rated

This was one of a handful of U2 bootlegs that I got hold of from a record fair in..
Tüm yorumu oku »

1982-12-06 - London by CMIPalaeo rated

A must-have. Excellent quality bootleg, probably the best I've heard from the early tours.

Highlights:
-Surrender (best performance, somewhat different than the..
Tüm yorumu oku »

1983-02-26 - Dundee by nickbibby rated

A real gem for me. Loved the set list, especially the inclusion of Like A Song for the only..
Tüm yorumu oku »


October Tour

29 kullanıcı tarafından 108 yorum yazıldı.

1982-07-04 - Werchter

cesar_garza01 tarafından yazıldı - 2 yıl önce

U2 playing in Werchter for the first time (they eventually became the headliners just 3 years after) and they gave a hell of a show. Even if Bono's voice was not good, starting with Gloria they won the crowd over. The Brick/A Day Without Me is one of the best here. Other highlights: Rejoice, 11 O'Clock Tick Tock with Give Peace A Chance, and Fire to close the show. During Out Of Control, Edge trolled us by playing the intro to Twilight. Give us the full song lads! A must-listen if you like this period of the band.
Tüm yorumu oku »

Performans:
Seyirci:
Sound:
Toplam:

1981-10-30 - Amsterdam by cesar_garza01 rated

U2 in the Netherlands. Enough said. There's always something in the air when the band plays here and this show..
Tüm yorumu oku »

1982-01-26 - Dublin by daymo1202 rated

A good friend of mine was at this show and was billed as U2's homecoming show in Dublin in January..
Tüm yorumu oku »

1982-03-17 - New York by cesar_garza01 rated

This and Lido Beach are perhaps the best October bootlegs you'll find. The setlist is great and some songs had..
Tüm yorumu oku »


Boy Tour

42 kullanıcı tarafından 117 yorum yazıldı.

1981-05-15 - San Francisco

cesar_garza01 tarafından yazıldı - 2 yıl önce

I rediscovered this gig and it is truly fantastic. I listened to the old source a long time ago and didn't think much of it, but after listening to the upgrade, it really brings the show to another level. One of the best sounding Boy bootlegs and an extended performance with non standard songs like Touch and Boy-Girl. The latter includes a snippet of Let's Twist Again and segues into Out Of Control, a great highlight.
The band was trying to get a place in the U.S. and this show has the "innocence" feeling that they mention nowadays in songs like Twilight.
Perhaps the highlight of this show is a very early (and rough) performance of I Fall Down (at the time still called "When I Fall Down"). The band were writing new songs in the back of their van, as Bono says.
There are very funny moments too, like when Bono opens a bottle of champagne but is hesitant to drink it (not so shy later at ZooTV, huh?). Between Twilight and I Will Follow, the lights went out and Bono has to play the entertainer to the crowd. Luckily for him, the lights returned promptly.
Listen to the 2nd 11 O'Clock. The energy is incredible here. Another Boy show you can't miss.
Tüm yorumu oku »

Performans:
Seyirci:
Sound:
Toplam:

1981-05-15 - San Francisco by CMIPalaeo rated

Excellent early show, with just about all the Boy Tour material represented. The band are energetic and really doing a..
Tüm yorumu oku »

1980-09-12 - Scarborough by iTim rated

Still early in the tour and their career which probably explains the lack of enthusiasm in the audience. The band..
Tüm yorumu oku »

1981-01-24 - Glasgow by BigGiRL rated

From Pimm Jal de la Parra, U2 Live - A Concert Documentry:

Before Twilight Bono points to the 'Boy' backdrop.
..
Tüm yorumu oku »


Early Days

21 kullanıcı tarafından 33 yorum yazıldı.

1980-02-26 - Dublin

CMIPalaeo tarafından yazıldı - 1 yıl önce

Silver Lining is an early version of 11 O'Clock Tick Tock. Musically it's nearly identical (except a few neat little things at the end) but has very different lyrics. Speed of Life has lyrics, unlike the version that was eventually officially released. Trevor is an early version of Touch. Shadows and Tall Trees sounds quite different to the version on Boy.

Overall, a very solid show with great historical value. It's really something special to see the band at this early stage playing with all the passion and fire that will define their whole career.

Highlights
- Life On a Distant Planet (one of my favourite of U2's early songs)
- Another Day
- Pete the Chop
- Cartoon World
- Twilight
- Out of Control
Tüm yorumu oku »

Performans:
Seyirci:
Sound:
Toplam:

1979-10-05 - Cork by cesar_garza01 rated

One of the earliest known bootlegs and a fun one to listen to. As many have said, only here you..
Tüm yorumu oku »

1980-03-02 - Tullamore by CMIPalaeo rated

Nothing spectacular, fun but inexperienced performance and mediocre sound. The main selling point for this boot is the number of..
Tüm yorumu oku »

1979-10-05 - Cork by LikeASong rated

One of the first recordings that exist from the band in its earliest stages. Just for that, this concert should..
Tüm yorumu oku »


Various Dates

66 kullanıcı tarafından 171 yorum yazıldı.

2011-10-15 - Hollywood

ahn1991 tarafından yazıldı - 6 yıl önce

Wow. Just wow. Of the little hype this act was given, the band certainly came out and hit it out of the park. Seven acoustic songs, partly accompanied by a string section. There are a couple surprises. The first and major surprise is the live debut of "A Man And A Woman." This rather obscure HTDAAB song was seemingly hated on left and right by hardcore fans, but the band decided to stick it to the man and bust this one out. I will be honest and say that it is probably one of the strongest acoustic songs they now have. The second surprise is "Staring At The Sun." Another rather underrated song, this one hailing from Pop, makes its first appearance since it was last played during the Elevation Tour back in the early 2000s. While it was speculated that this song would make a 360 appearance, that appearance never materialized, so Pop fans will be pleased to hear this beauty joined by the string section.

Other hits include Desire, I Still Haven't Found, Sunday Bloody Sunday, all played acoustically along with One accompanied by the strings (and a very strong performance, must I say). The main set ended with Clinton coming on stage to announce the encore while praising Bono and Edge for their work. The show ended with Miss Sarajevo with Edge trading the guitar for the piano. Another song with string accompaniment and a strong performance by Bono brought the night to a close.

Highlights - EVERYTHING
Lowlights - NONE

Download this one! The rarity of a full acoustic set this good is bound to keep you coming back to this when you need your U2 fix but don't want a full dose of rock n roll.
Tüm yorumu oku »

Performans:
Seyirci:
Sound:
Toplam:

1979-02-00 - Dublin by CMIPalaeo rated

Not a must-have, but an interesting look at U2's beginnings. For collectors of rare songs, this one has three unreleased..
Tüm yorumu oku »

1987-11-11 - San Francisco by Unknown rated

A true raw outdoor performance. Engagement with the crowd takes place at some level on almost every song. Three..
Tüm yorumu oku »

1983-12-18 - London by partygirl65 rated

I didn't have a ticket to this show and I got a single 5th row ticket as a return at..
Tüm yorumu oku »